Research Guides: BUSMHR 7412 Competitive Analysis: Demographic and National Data

Country Background

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Very broad background information on countries. Go to the CountryReviews link at the top of the homepage and then select the country of interest. The report will cover political history and current conditions, an economic overview, information on the investment climate, an overview of the social/cultural considerations, and an environmental overview.

The World Factbook
From the CIA, this website provides basic background information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy infrastructure, geography, communications and transportation infrastructure and military of 200+ countries worldwide.

Fitch Connect
This database is generally focused on international trade and investment and provides economic analysis reports, Fitch Ratings, and industry forecasts. Industry reports generally focus on the state of the industry in a country or region and include SWOT analyses, information on the competitive landscape, relevant marcroeconomic forecasts and more.

EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new window
This database has a lot of information, including company and industry analysis reports, but a particular highlight is its country analysis section which includes economic forecasts, in-depth (40-50pg) country reports that include coverage of the credit, supply, market and political environment, and CEIC Insights reports (generally quarterly reports on economic outlook).

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
The Consumers tab provides a starting point to dive into sections on Digital Consumers, Households, Income and Expenditure reports, Lifestyle segments and Populations reports on overall demographics and demographic forecasts. The Statistics sections provide data obtained through consumer surveys concerning consumers habits, preferences and attitudes. (All geographies are not available for all reports.)
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
If you're looking at the U.S. market, this database provides access to detailed data from the U.S. Census Bureau, the FBI, CDC and more. Some U.S. Religion data is available as well as Canadian and UK Census data, Eurostat (European statistics) data and World Development Indicators data. The advantage to accessing these free data sources within this database is that the user interface is sometimes more easily navigable than the websites.