Featured Databases & Links - JAPANESE 8500 - Japanese Bibliography and Research Methods

Japan Knowledge Library: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Database

Japan Knowledge : Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Databases [Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Consists of fully searchable and browsable databases including English-Japanese and Japanese-English dictionaries, Encyclopedia Nipponica and Encyclopedia of Japan, articles published in a weekly magazine Ekonomisuto, collection of Toyo bunko series and other visual and sound databases.

Ohio State's Japan Knowledge Books (JK Books) subscriptions include*:

*Note: users will have to clear their browser cache to move from the JK Library database to JK Books. If necessary, please contact kamolpechara.2@osu.edu for assistance.

Fuzoku Gaho This link opens in a new window
風俗畫報 Tōkyō : Tōyōdō, Meiji 22 [1889]- 東京 : 東陽堂, 明治22 [1889]-

Taiyō [electronic resource] = The sun 太陽
Dai 1-kan dai 1-gō (Jan. 1895)-
Ceased with Dai 34-kan dai 2-gō, published in Feb. 1928
Bungei Kurabu [Nihon Kindai Bungakukan] 文芸倶楽部［日本近代文学館］
These magazines contain many valuable photographs of geigi (geisha/geiko), actors and entertainers, along with articles commenting on the trends and mores current at the time.
more...less...
Bungei Kurabu (Literary Club) was published by Hakubunkan publishing house from January 1895 to January 1933. The total number of volumes included 457 issues and 150 regular and irregular extra issues. Of these the 284 issues made available here are those released during the period running from 1895 to 1912.
Gunsho Ruiju series (群書類従)
The three Gunsho ruijū series in total consist of 3,750 historical works covering law, politics, economics, education, ethics, regional studies, history, literature, art, music, culture and entertainment.
more...less...
The first series was published from 1793 to 1819 by Hanawa Hokiichi, the sequel in 1821 by his son Hanawa Tadatomi, and the last series appeared from 1903 to 1909. The Web version of the Gunsho ruijū is searchable using modern characters, and text can be copied.
Toyo Keizai Archives (東洋経済アーカイブズ )
One of Japan’s oldest economic magazines. This full-text, searchable digital archives includes 120 years of publications, or 58,000 issues, from the inaugural issue of November 15th, Meiji 28 (1895) to Heisei 27 (2015).
more...less...
Along with Nikkei Business (日経ビジネス) and Weekly DIAMOND (週刊ダイヤモンド), it is currently one of the three leading business magazines in Japan.

Users' Guides

Magazine & Book Search

Nichigai Web Services
Japanese language magazine, book, and award search

Scholarly and Academic Information Portals

Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic (J-STAGE)
Kindai Digital Library (NDL)
Provided by National Diet Library (国立国会図書館) - 明治以降に刊行された図書・雑誌のうち、インターネットで閲覧可能なデジタル化資料を公開しています。
Meiji Japan: the Edward Sylvester Morse collection from the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum
Edward Sylvester Morse Papers were given to the Peabody Museum in 1926 and consist of 99 boxes of personal and professional papers including diaries, correspondence, research files, drawings, lecture notes, publications, scrapbooks and manuscripts relating to Japan. Collection digitized in its entirety. Papers (ca. 1858-1925, 40 cubic feet), document the numerous and valuable contributions made by Morse to the areas of malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history. Included are diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, research files, drawings, manuscripts, publications and teaching materials and drawings
National Diet Library (NDL)]

CiNii (Portal Links)

CiNII Articles
CiNii(Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, pronounced like "sigh-knee") is a database service which can be searched for academic information of articles, books & Jjournals.
JAIRO - 学術機関リポジトリポータル
Japanese Institutional Repositories Online
KAKEN - 科学研究費助成事業データベース

CiNii (Users' Guide)

CiNii Articles - 日本の論文をさがす
CiNii Articles の利用方法を簡潔に説明した資料
CiNii Books - 大学図書館の本をさがす
CiNii Books の利用方法を簡潔に説明した資料
CiNii Dissertations - 日本の博士論文をさがす
CiNii Dissertations の利用方法を簡潔に説明した資料

Japanese Calendrical Systems

Two number systems for years are commonly used in Japan:

Gregorian Calendar - the western calendar year system commonly used in US. e.g. 2015
Nengō 年号 - calendar year system based on the reigns of emperors.e.g. Heisei 27 or 平成二十七年

Japanese year converter

Romanization Standards

The libraries follow the romanization standards used in the Library of Congress

ALA-LC Romanization Tables

Chinese - pinyin romanization system, however some older titles still has titles using the Wade-Giles romanization system.

Library of Congress Pinyin Conversion Project
How can I tell the difference between Wade-Giles and Pinyin

Japanese - Modified Hepburn romanization system

Korean - McCune-Reischauer system