JAPANESE 8500 - Japanese Bibliography and Research Methods

Developed by the Statistics Bureau of the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications and managed by the Incorporated Administrative Agency National Statistics Center. This website is also available in Japanese, simply select "Japanese" in the top right corner.

Japanese government portal site: links to agencies and their publications including statistics, white papers, annual reports, etc as well as Kanpo (official government gazette).

Provides a list of data sets related to Japanese and Asian Studies, among others, some of which are publicly accessible or available through common university consortia.

Provides the latest statistical reports and national indices from METI on

The Japanese Historical Map Collection contains about 2,300 early maps of Japan and the World. The collection was acquired by the University of California from the Mitsui family in 1949, and is housed on the Berkeley campus in the C.V. Starr East Asian Library.

UBC Library's Rare Books and Special Collections holds one of the world's largest collections of maps and guidebooks of the Japanese Tokugawa period, ca. 1600-1867. The collection varies in both format and size: items range from small single-sheet maps to more than thirty square feet, and also include a ceramic plate, a woodblock, and maps in scroll format.

GIS resources provided by provided the Center for Geographic Analysis at Harvard University. Includes historical datasets such as Tokugawa and Meiji datasets.

The National Diet Library (NDL) Great East Japan Earthquake Archive is a portal site which enables integrated search of records and reports of the earthquake disaster by public institutions, private organizations and media, and of research projects by universities, academic societies and research institutes. The archive includes news stories, reports, photos, sound and video recordings, and maps. Interface in multiple languages including English and Japanese

地図検索サイト - 住所 駅 郵便番号 路線図などで地図検索。住宅地図・天気予報・路線図・高速道路地図も。

Database of historical maps in the Yokohama City University Collection.

Our library's collection of over 2,000 Japanese language maps is the largest holding of such foreign language materials at the university