Research Guides: Keep Teaching: Virtual Library Instruction Resources: Sharing Materials

Remember Accessibility

As you are setting up your Carmen course, keep accessibility in mind. For basic tips and best practices for accessible content, please see the Accessibility page of this guide.

Didn't find what you need?

Didn't find what you needed? Check out the ODEE site Keep Teaching for more help.

Streaming Video available through OSU

Alexander Street Video Library This link opens in a new window
Single discovery interface for all library titles owned through Alexander Street Press. Browse by collection, subject or use a text based search to find videos on the platform.
DocuSeek2 This link opens in a new window
Essential documentary films for higher education. Exclusive academic streaming for films from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The Films on Demand collections provide streaming video access to more than 8,000 videos and 90,000 segments for topics including Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine.
Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Digital Campus by Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.® allows students to legally view course-assigned films outside the classroom. Providing digital access to course-related films allows educators to enhance the learning experience without taking up class time. Safari browser is not supported

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
The early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. The collection also contains award-winning documentaries, featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts that bring history alive.
Art and Architecture in Video This link opens in a new window
Over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Provides access to the African American Perspectives collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
DocuSeek2 This link opens in a new window
Docuseek is a collection of over 800 documentary and social issues films and videos. Exclusive academic streaming for films from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution.
Environmental Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Contain 500 hours of film covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. The collection addresses specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
An online resource for the study of human culture and behavior made up of hundreds of hours of classic and contemporary documentaries previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field and select feature films. Wherever possible, videos include accompanying field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, study guides, and other context-enhancing, full-text materials.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. Features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. Provides a multi-content perspective on the LGBT political, cultural and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons: Educational Films and Documentaries This link opens in a new window
Full-length educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects which may be streamed or downloaded for classroom use.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
A wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries exploring human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The content covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.

Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library This link opens in a new window
Videos that retrace the history of fashion, clothing, and costume worldwide, covering the major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections. Topical segments visit events like the Met's Costume Exhibits, CFDA Awards, and feature interviews with top designers, models, and celebrities of the fashion world.

Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window
A selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, which offers perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.
Criterion Collection This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to gathering the greatest films from around the world and publishing them in editions of the highest technical quality, with supplemental features that enhance the appreciation of the art of film.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides streaming video access to more than 8,000 videos and 90,000 segments for topics including Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine.
Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service that provides access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present This link opens in a new window
Includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards. Films include the Oscar-nominated Twilight Samurai, directed by YÃ´ji Yamada, and Oscar-nominated The Scent of Green Papaya, directed by Tran Anh Hung. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards.
Silent Film Online This link opens in a new window
Brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.

Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus allows students the flexibility to legally view course-assigned films and popular movies outside the classroom. Providing digital access to course-related films allows educators to enhance the learning experience without taking up valuable class time.

Counseling and Therapy In Video This link opens in a new window
Provides a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. The collection provides a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
Foreign Language Videos (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
A collection of video clips in which native speakers elaborate on a wide variety of topics about their culture, family, daily life, and more. Each video clip is accompanied by a description of its contents, the country of the speaker, and additional grammar and vocabulary notes.
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video This link opens in a new window
Videos about fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more. The collection features an array of internationally renowned physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dietitians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts who share information, ideas, and insights on the principles, techniques, and modalities of modern exercise science and sports medicine.

Classical Music in Video This link opens in a new window
Classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video—approximately 1,500 performances in all—performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Dance Online: Dance in Video Vol 1 & II This link opens in a new window
Streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances.
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains recordings of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.

60 Minutes: 1997-2014 This link opens in a new window
Provides 350 hours of high-definition video from 60 Minutes, also includes 175 hours of bonus segments from the popular CBS News program Sunday Morning.
Meet the Press This link opens in a new window
Over 1,500 hours of footage—the full surviving broadcast run to date—available via streaming online video.

Carmen Library Link

If you have created LibGuides, these guides can be linked in Carmen courses so students can access resources straight from Carmen. The link to your guide appears in the Carmen course menu as Library Link.

To create a new Library Link

login at https://go.osu.edu/cll using your OSU name.#
select the All Library Links tab or the My Links tab and click New Link
in the search box, search for the guide you'd like to link to
then using the dropdown menus at the bottom of the page, choose the course you'd like to link from beginning with the course location (you can stop at any step in order to create a link at a department, course level, etc.)
then click the Save Link button at the bottom right of the page.

If you have any questions about Carmen Library Link or need an account, contact Diana Ramey at ramey.51@osu.edu.

Linking to Library Licensed Materials

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW: Copyright and eLearning

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW:Copyright and eLearning
Prepared by the Office of Distance Education and eLearning and University Libraries’ Copyright Services.

Additional Copyright Support

A guide has also been created: Resources on Copyright & Emergency Remote Teaching and Research.