Research Guides: Keep Teaching: Virtual Library Instruction Resources: Images

LICENSE

This guide has been adapted with permission from one created by Boston College University Libraries and is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution

Images

Images add interest and provide context for your pages and modules. Some of the major sources for finding images are listed on this page. For a more comprehensive list of sources look at the Images page of the Streaming Media and Online Images guide.

Images from Databases

OSU Libraries licenses high quality image collections. Since Carmen is password protected, you can use these on your pages. A few notable sources are listed below.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data the tools to actively use those images and a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users.
CAMIO This link opens in a new window
CAMIO is an online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
Oxford Art Online [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography from prehistory to the present day. Topics include, artist biographies, patrons, writers, cultures, countries, towns, styles, movements, theories, subject matters, iconography and more. Access to over 100,000 art images from the Bridgeman Art Library. Links to images elsewhere on the web.

Creative Commons Images

You can use the Creative Commons search to find images that you can share, use and modify. This search includes content from Google Images, Europeana, Wikimedia Commons, and Open Clip Art Library.

Do not assume that the results displayed in this search portal are under a Creative Commons license. You should always verify that the work is actually under a Creative Commons license by following the link. If you are have any questions, you should contact the copyright holder directly or try to contact the site where you found the content.

Public Domain Images

"Public domain" images are not protected by copyright. The public owns these works, not an individual author or artist. Anyone can use a public domain work without obtaining permission, but no one can ever own it. Examples of websites that share images that are in the public domain are listed below. For more information about the public domain click here.

The Getty Open Content Program
The Getty makes available, without charge, more than 10,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute in the Open Content Program. The Getty holds the rights to these images or they are in the public domain and they can be used for any purpose. No permission is required.
The Yale University Art Gallery
Thousands of images of works in the Gallery’s collection believed to be in the public domain are available for free download through the Gallery’s website. Under Yale University’s Open Access Policy, anyone may use the Gallery’s open-access material without further application, authorization, or fees due to the Gallery or to Yale. Check the Gallery's Terms of Use page for more information.

Images for Scholarly Publishing

Thousands of images are available for use in scholarly publications from Images for Academic Publishing (IAP) via ARTstor and the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA). For more information, click here.

Image Information
Culture	Egyptian
Title	Section from the "Book of the Dead" of Nany
Period	Dynasty 21, reigns of Psensennes I-II; Third Intermediate period
Date	ca. 1040-945 B.C.E.
Location	Western Thebes
Credit Line	The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Rogers Fund, 1930 (30.3.31)
Image Copyright Notice	Image © The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Repository	The Metropolitan Museum of Art http://www.metmuseum.org
ARTstor Collection	Metropolitan Museum of Art - Images for Academic Publishing
Source	Data From: The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Rights	This image was provided by The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Contact information: Image Library, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1000 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10028, (212) 396-5050 (fax), Scholars.License@MetMuseum.org Image © The Metropolitan Museum of Art This image is available for uses permitted under the ARTstor Terms and Conditions of Use, such as teaching and study, as well as for scholarly publications, through the Images for Academic Publishing (IAP) initiative. If you are seeking to use this image for scholarly publication, you should click on the IAP icon below the thumbnail image.

Off-Campus Linking Tool

Enter a library resource URL in the box, and the proxy prefix will be added to the URL. e.g. http://www.jstor.org

The new URL will display above the box. Copy & Paste or click it to open in a new window.

Contact us for help

To request resources not available through Ohio State University Libraries or for assistance with stable URLs or proxy links, please contact Ask Help.