The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

Africana Studies

Guide to Africana Studies Resources

Oxford African American Studies Center

Oxford African American Studies Center  A digital compendium of historical and cultural African and African American resources. 

Search Oxford AASC



The World Factbook

Political Africa   

The World Factbook. Political Africa. Washington, D.C.: United States. Central Intelligence Agency, 2014.

The True Size of Africa

The True Size of Africa
A small contribution in the fight against rampant Immappancy, by Kai Krause

COUNTRY AREA x 1000 km2
USA 9.629
China 9.573
India 3.287
Mexico 1.964
Peru 1.285
France 633
Spain 506
Papua New Guinea 462
Sweden 441
Japan 378
Germany 357
Norway 324
Italy 301
New Zealand 270
United Kingdom 243
Nepal 147
Bangladesh 144
Greece 132
TOTAL 30.102
AFRICA 30.221

Just for Reference: The Surface of the MOON 37.930 

No Rights Reserved This work is placed in the Public Domain


Gaba, Eric. Carte politique en français de l'Afrique telle qu'en 07/2011.


Harvard WorldMap is an online, open source mapping platform developed to lower barriers for scholars who wish to explore, visualize, edit, and publish geospatial information.  Explore demographics, linguistics, environment, climate, politics and much more in this interactive map created by Harvard University.

Africa: Human Geography

Culture and Politics

Africa is sometimes nicknamed the "Mother Continent" due to its being the oldest inhabited continent on Earth.

Today, Africa is home to more countries than any other continent in the world. These countries are: Morocco, Western Sahara (Morocco), Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Egypt, Sudan, Chad, Niger, Mali, Mauritania, Senegal, The Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Burkina Faso, Togo, Benin, Nigeria, Cameroon, Central Africa Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Angola, Namibia, Botswana, South Africa, Lesotho, Swaziland, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Uganda, Kenya, Somalia, Ethiopia, Djibouti, Eritrea and the island countries of Cape Verde, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles, and Comoros.

Map by the National Geographic Society

Africa: Physical Geography

Africa has eight major physical regions: the Sahara, the Sahel, the Ethiopian Highlands, the savanna, the Swahili Coast, the rain forest, the African Great Lakes, and Southern Africa. Some of these regions cover large bands of the continent, such as the Sahara and Sahel, while others are isolated areas, such as the Ethiopian Highlands and the Great Lakes. Each of these regions has unique animal and plant communities.

Map by the National Geographic Society

Animated Atlas of African History 1879-2002

Brown University's Animated Atlas of African History (AAAH). Interactive map provides a year-by-year presentation of selected themes in African history, 1879 - 2002. 

African American and African Studies Librarian, Anthropology Librarian, and Comparative Studies Librarian

Leta Hendricks's picture
Leta Hendricks
222B Thompson Library 1858 Neil Avenue Columbus, OH 43210