The Ohio State University Libraries | Research Guides

Middle East Studies

History 8350: Chronicles as Sources for Islamic History

Encyclopaedias

Encyclopaedia of Islam: 
http://library.ohio-state.edu/record=e1000413~S7  [1st, 2nd and 3rd  editions]
Leiden, Brill, 1960- [i.e. 1954]
 
Turkiye Diyanet Vakfi Islam Ansiklopedisi: 
Istanbul: Turkiye Diyanet Vakfi, 1988- 
This is also available online Open Access at  
 
 
Encyclopaedia Iranica:  
London: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1982-
 
Encyclopaedia of the Qu’ran:
Leiden: Brill (2001-2006) BP133.E532001 
 
Encyclopaedia of the Holy Qur’an. Delhi: Global Vision Publishing House, 2000.

Periodical Indices

Index Islamicus: 
                                                                                  
Abstract Iranica: 
Teheran: Departement d’iranologie de l’Institut francais de Teheran, 1978-   
GRR DS251S783
 
Turkology Annual Online:  (Turkologischer Anzeiger)
 
Turkology Annual:
Wien: Institut fur Orientalistik der Universitat Wien, 1977-
 

Bibliographies and Concordances of Primary Sources

Brockelmann, Carl.  Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur.  
Leiden: E.J. Brill, 1943-  
(GRR  PJ7510B7 1943) Guide for use of the GAL is available at 
 
Sezgin, Fuat.  Geschichte des arabischen Schrifttums. 
Leiden: E.J. Brill, 1967-    
 
Storey, C.A.  Persian literature: a bio-bibliographical survey.
London: Luzac & Co., 1927-
 
Wensinck, A.J. Concordance et indices de la tradition musulmane.
Leiden: E.J. Brill, 1933-
 
Auchterlonie, Paul.  Arabic biographical dictionaries: a summary guide and bibiliography. 
Durham: Middle East Libraries Committee, 1986. 
 

Anees, Munawar A.  Guide to Sira and Hadith literature in Western languages  London ; New York : Mansell, 1986  https://library.ohio-state.edu/record=b2396949~S7

 

Hadith - Canonical Collections

Encyclopedia of Canonical Hadith
Boston: Brill 2007. GHA Juynboll
 
Al-Bukhari, Sahih  (English)
Beyrouth: Dar el Fiker, 1993. 
 BP135.A124 E5 1993
 
            Sahih   (Arabic)
al-Riyāḍ : Bayt al-Afkār al-Dawlīyah lil-Nashr, 1998.  (THO)
BP135 .A12 1998  (THO)
 
Muslim, Sahih
[Istanbul] : al-Maṭbaʻah al-ʻĀmirah fī Dār al-Khilāfah al-ʻAlīyah, 1330-1334 [1911 or 1912-1915 or 1916]
 BP135 .A12 1998 (THO)
 
Abi Dawud, Sunan
Dar Ihya al-Sunnah al-Nabawiyah (197-)
BP135.A13 1970  (THO)
 
Al-Tirmidhi, Sunan
al-Madīnah al-Munawwarah, al-Maktabah al-Salafīyah, [1965-67] 
BP135 .A15 1964 (THO)
 
Al-Nasa’i Sunan
Bayrūt, Lubnān : Al-Maktabah al-ʻIlmīyah, [198-?]
BP135 .A16 198 -  (THO)

 

Ibn Majah, Sunan
             al-Qāhirah : Dār al-Ḥadīth, 1998.
            BP135 .A17 1998  (THO)
 
Ibn Malik, Muwatta
            Bayrūt : Dār al-Gharb al-Islāmī, 1997.
            http://osu.worldcat.org/oclc/3741236
BP135.A2 M2535 1997  (THO)

Biographical Sources

Baladhuri, Ahmad ibn Yahya.  Ansab al-ashraf. 
Bayrut: Yutlabu min F. Shataynir, 1978-
(See the library catalog for other editions, which contain other parts)        
 
Ibn Hajar  al-'Asqalani, Ahmad ibn 'Ali.  Tahdhib al-tahdhib. Bayrut: Dar Sadir, 1968.  (STX
 
Ibn Khallikan.  Wafayat al-a'yan.   al-Tab'ah 1.  al-Qahirah: Maktabat al-Nahdah al-Misriyah, 1948. 
        English translation: Wafayat al-a'yan wa anba' abna' al-zaman.  
Karachi: Pakistan Historical Society, 1961-1967.  (GRR -  D198.3I2421961)   
 
Ibn Sa'd, Muhammad.  al-Tabaqat al-kabir.   Tihran: Mu'assasat al-Nasr, 1904.   (GRR  
 
Khatib al-Baghdadi, Abu Bakr Ahmad ibn 'Ali.  Tarikh Baghdad. Bayrut, Lubnan: Dar al-Kitab 
al-'Arabi, [196-]   (THO4M - DS51B3K5196-) http://osu.worldcat.org/oclc/15747200
 
Safadi, Khalil ibn Aybak.  Das biographische Lexikon des Salahaddin Halil ibn Aibak as-Safadi.  
Wiesbaden: Franz Steiner, [19--]  (stx -D198.3S1281961a)   http://osu.worldcat.org/oclc/19373882
 
Yaqut ibn 'Abd Allah al-Hamawi.  The Irshad al-arib ila ma'rifat al-adib.   London: Luzac, 1923.
 
Kahhalah, 'Umar Rida.  Mu'jam al-mu'allifin.  
Dimashq: al-Maktabah al-'Arabiyah, 1957.  (STX 
Z7052K3) 
Index: Salim, Farraj ‘Ata. Kashshaf Mu’jam al-mu’allifin li-Kahhalah.
al-Riyad:Maktabat al-Malik Fahd al-Wataniyah, 1998.  (THO 10 -  Z7052K318S24 1998)
 
Zirikli, Khayr al-Din     A'lam. 
al-Tab'ah 4.  Bayrut: Dar al-'Ilm lil-Malayin, 1979. 
 
Khalifah, Sha’ban ‘Abd al-‘Aziz. Madakhil al-asma’ al-‘Arabiyah al-qadimah.
al-Qahirah: al-Maktabah al-Akadimiyah, 1996. 
(THO4M -  DS37.2K42 1996)  Indexes many of the titles above.
 

Microfilm Sources

Arabisch-islamisches biographisches Archiv. (MIC Fiche DS37.2A73 1994)
 Biographies of Arab and classical Islamic scholars, historical figures, etc., from the rise of Islam to the 20th century.  From Western language sources only, primarily German and English.
           The biographies are in alphabetical order on the fiche numbered
1 through 453; the fiche numbered I through LXIV contain the tables of contents and bibliographies from  the print sources used to compile this archive.

 

Turkisches biographisches Archiv. (MIC Fiche CT1902T87 1999  
a printed guide is available at the same call no. at MIC Reference)
           Includes 100,000 articles from 160 sources from the
11th century to the 20th century.  Guide includes list of sources, primarily in Turkish, but also German and French with some English.  Biographies are listed in alphabetical order on the fiche numbered F1-F395; fiche G1-G19 give information from sources where the biographies can’t be split out individually.
 
All biographies are indexed in World Biographical Index, available from the Research  Databases page of the OSU Libraries’ home page.

Geographies

Cornu, Georgette.  Atlas du monde arabo-islamique a l'epoque classique IXe-Xe siecles. 
Leiden: Brill, 1985   (G106A7C671985)
 
Munis, Husayn. Atlas tarikh al-Islam.
Madinat Nasr, al-Qahirah: al-Zahra al-I'lam al-'Arabi, 1987.  (G1046E44M81987)
 
Tubinger Atlas des Vorderen Orients. 
Wiesbaden: Reichert, 1977-  (G2205T8)
 
Le Strange, Guy.  The lands of the Eastern Caliphate. 
London: Cass, 1966. DS44.9L41966)
 
-----.  Palestine under the Moslems. 
Beirut: Khayats, 1965.  (DS124L61965) 
 
Bibliotheca geographorum Arabicorum. 
3rd ed.  Lugduni Batavorum: E.J. Brill, 1967.  (STX - G93B481967) 
8 vols. Includes the following texts:
Ibn Hawqal, Abu al-Qasim Muhammad.  Kitab surat al-ard
Istakhri.  al-Masalik wa-al-mamalik
Mas'udi  Kitab al-tanbih wa-al-ishraf
Ibn Rustah, Ahmad ibn ‘Umar. Kitab al-A’laq al-nafisah
Muqaddasi, Muhammad ibn Ahmad.  Ahsan al-taqasim fi ma’rifat al-aqalim
Ibn Khurradadhbih, ‘Ubyad Allah ibn ‘Abd Allah.  al-Masalik wa-al-mamalik
Ibn al-Faqih al-Hamadhani, Ahmad ibn Muhammad.  Mukhtasar kitab al-buldan
 
Yaqut ibn 'Abd Allah al-Hamawi, 1179-1229.  Mu'jam al-buldan. 
Tihran: Maktabat al-Asadi, 
(GRR - G93Y31990) 

Middle East Studies Library

Magda El-Sherbini
305 F Thompson Library
Middle East Studies Librarian
614-247-7456  

 

Patrick Visel
305 Thompson Library 
Middle East Studies
Program Assistant
614-688-8796

Transliteration

ALA-LC Romanization Tables
 
IJMES Translation & Transliteration Guide
 
Encyclopaedia of Islam Transliteration system
 
 
 
Library of Congress Name / Title / Subject  Authorities