Granville High School Global Awareness Research

RESEARCH GUIDES

Studying Africa: A Guide to the Sources   Andersson, Marianne, ed. Studying Africa: A Guide to the Sources, 3^rd ed. Uppsala: Nordiska Afrikainstitutet, 2014.

A Guide to Africa on the Internet is a free research-oriented online resources selected by the Nordic Africa Institute’s (NAI) Library staff.  This guide is regularly updated and is a thorough resource to African Studies research.  Nordiska Afrikainstitutet

GENERAL SOURCES

The African Union  The African Union (AU) replaced the Organization of African Unity (1963–2002) in 2002.  AU promotes unity and solidarity of African states, encourages economic development, and endorses international cooperation. 

Africa Bibliography is an authoritative guide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984. This online consolidated version brings together every record collected since the bibliography's foundation, producing a rich and interactive resource for all scholars interested in the study of Africa.

CountryWatch database provides country specific background information, current events, global maps, governmental data, and political documents.  This database contains daily news and statistics on cultural, economic, demographic, political, and social topics.

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, primary sources, and research reports. This database contains resources from the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and other academic fields. JSTOR’s primary source collections include “Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa” and “World Heritage Sites: Africa.”

Hydroelectric Power  

Cooperating internationally over water: explaining l'espace OMVS JSTOR

“Ghana must Progress, but we are Really Suffering”: Bui Dam, Antipolitics Development, and the Livelihood Implications for Rural People.  AcademicOne

Adom, P. K., Agradi, M. P., & Bekoe, W. (2019). Electricity supply in Ghana: The implications of climate-induced distortions in the water-energy equilibrium and system losses. Renewable Energy: An International Journal, 134, 1114–1128. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.renene.2018.09.025

Mining

Grounding institutions through informal practice: Credibility in artisanal mining of aggregates, Ghana  Scopus®

Land versus livelihoods: Community perspectives on dispossession and marginalization in Ghana's mining sector Scopus®

Unpacking Land Grabs: Subjects, Performances and the State in Ghana's ‘Small‐scale’ Gold Mining Sector.  Historical Abstracts

Air Pollution

Ghana randomized air pollution and health study (GRAPHS): study protocol for a randomized controlled trial.  CINAHL Plus

Indoor Air Pollution and Health in Ghana: Self-Reported Exposure to Unprocessed Solid Fuel Smoke.  Environment Complete

Work as a street vendor, associated traffic-related air pollution exposures and risk of adverse pregnancy outcomes in Accra, Ghana  ScienceDirect

Contraceptives

Knowledge and Usage of Emergency Contraceptives Among University Students in Ghana.  CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Modern contraceptive use among women of reproductive age in Ghana: analysis of the 2003–2014 Ghana Demographic and Health Surveys  Directory of Open Access Journals

Use and discontinuation of intrauterine contraceptive device in the Greater Accra Region of Ghana   Directory of Open Access Journals

Healthcare

Exploring the feasibility of eHealth solutions to decrease delays in maternal healthcare in remote communities of Ghana  SwePub

Is healthcare really equal for all?: Assessing the horizontal and vertical equity in healthcare utilisation among older Ghanaians SwePub

Transnational actors and health care reform: Why international organizations initially opposed, and later supported, social health insurance in Ghana. Criminal Justice Abstracts

AIDS

Abnormal coagulation profile in people living with hiv-aids on combined antiretroviral therapy: Findings from a case-control study in the ho municipality, Ghana  Scopus®

Housing and Health Outcomes of persons living with HIV/AIDS (PLWHAs) in the Lower Manya Krobo District, Ghana ProjectMUSE

"I Want to Go Gently": How AIDS Patients in Ghana Envisage Their Deaths. Professional Development Collection