Granville High School Global Awareness Research

RESEARCH GUIDES

Studying Africa: A Guide to the Sources   Andersson, Marianne, ed. Studying Africa: A Guide to the Sources, 3^rd ed. Uppsala: Nordiska Afrikainstitutet, 2014.

A Guide to Africa on the Internet is a free research-oriented online resources selected by the Nordic Africa Institute’s (NAI) Library staff.  This guide is regularly updated and is a thorough resource to African Studies research.  Nordiska Afrikainstitutet

GENERAL SOURCES

The African Union  The African Union (AU) replaced the Organization of African Unity (1963–2002) in 2002.  AU promotes unity and solidarity of African states, encourages economic development, and endorses international cooperation. 

Africa Bibliography is an authoritative guide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984. This online consolidated version brings together every record collected since the bibliography's foundation, producing a rich and interactive resource for all scholars interested in the study of Africa.

CountryWatch database provides country specific background information, current events, global maps, governmental data, and political documents.  This database contains daily news and statistics on cultural, economic, demographic, political, and social topics.

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, primary sources, and research reports. This database contains resources from the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and other academic fields. JSTOR’s primary source collections include “Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa” and “World Heritage Sites: Africa.”

Literacy Rate

Constructing sociodemographic indicators for national statistical institutes by using mobile phone data: estimating literacy rates in Senegal  Scopus®

Differentiation of Effect Across Systemic Literacy Programs in Rwanda, the Philippines, and Senegal  Academic OneFile

Education, religious trust, and ethnicity: The case of Senegal  Scopus®

Poverty

Global value chains, large-scale farming, and poverty: long-term effects in Senegal. FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts

Renewable energy, poverty alleviation and developing nations: Evidence from Senegal  SciELO

The Subjective Approach as a Tool for Understanding Poverty: The Case of Senegal  ScienceDirect

Access to Medicine

Access to medicines in Senegal: Results of a sample survey  Scopus®

The role of health insurance in the coverage of oral health care in Senegal  Directory of Open Access Journals

Understanding where and why Senegalese adolescents and young adults access health information: A mixed methods study examining contextual and personal influences on health information seeking.  Supplemental Index

Infanticide

Access to family planning in Senegal. CINAHL Plus

Estimates of the Incidence of Induced Abortion And Consequences of Unsafe Abortion in Senegal. CINAHL Plus

Psychosocial outlines of infanticide in Black Africa: A report on Senegal  Scopus®

Flooding

Condemned to live with one’s feet in water? : A case study of community based strategies and urban maladaptation in flood prone Pikine/Dakar, Senegal  Emerald Insight

Flood governance for resilience in cities: The historical policy transformations in Dakar's suburbs. GreenFILE

The Real Governance of Disaster Risk Management in Peri-urban Senegal: Delivering Flood Response Services through Co-production Scopus®

Infrastructure

Infrastructures of utopia: Ruination and Regeneration of the African Future ProjectMUSE

Joint infrastructure and the sharing of benefits in the Senegal and Niger watersheds  Scopus®

Local and national electricity planning in Senegal: Scenarios and policies  ScienceDirect