RESEARCH GUIDES

Studying Africa: A Guide to the Sources   Andersson, Marianne, ed. Studying Africa: A Guide to the Sources, 3^rd ed. Uppsala: Nordiska Afrikainstitutet, 2014.

A Guide to Africa on the Internet is a free research-oriented online resources selected by the Nordic Africa Institute’s (NAI) Library staff.  This guide is regularly updated and is a thorough resource to African Studies research.  Nordiska Afrikainstitutet

GENERAL SOURCES

The African Union  The African Union (AU) replaced the Organization of African Unity (1963–2002) in 2002.  AU promotes unity and solidarity of African states, encourages economic development, and endorses international cooperation. 

Africa Bibliography is an authoritative guide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984. This online consolidated version brings together every record collected since the bibliography's foundation, producing a rich and interactive resource for all scholars interested in the study of Africa.

CountryWatch database provides country specific background information, current events, global maps, governmental data, and political documents.  This database contains daily news and statistics on cultural, economic, demographic, political, and social topics.

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, primary sources, and research reports. This database contains resources from the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and other academic fields. JSTOR’s primary source collections include “Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa” and “World Heritage Sites: Africa.”

Border Security

Decolonizing Sovereignty: States of Exception along the Kenya-Somali Frontier.   Religion and Philosophy Collection

Muslim clerics disappearing near Kenya-Somalia border Academic OneFile

Pastoralists at War: Violence and Security in the Kenya-Sudan-Uganda Border Region Directory of Open Access Journals

AIDS

Family Functioning and Child Behavioral Problems in Households Affected by HIV and AIDS in Kenya. Criminal Justice Abstracts

Original research article: HIV/AIDS and contraceptive use: factors associated with contraceptive use among sexually active HIV-positive women in Kenya ScienceDirect

Rates and predictors of non-adherence to antiretroviral therapy among HIV-positive individuals in Kenya: Results from the second Kenya AIDS indicator survey, 2012  Scopus®

Death in Childbirth

A case-control study of risk factors for fetal and early neonatal deaths in a tertiary hospital in Kenya  SwePub

Exploring mistreatment of women during childbirth in a peri-urban setting in Kenya: experiences and perceptions of women and healthcare providers  Directory of Open Access Journals

Injured bodies, damaged lives: experiences and narratives of Kenyan women with obstetric fistula and Female Genital Mutilation/Cutting. CINAHL Plus

Women's Education

Education and risky sex in Africa: Unraveling the link between women’s education and reproductive health behaviors in Kenya ScienceDirect

Educational challenges and diminishing family safety net faced by high-school girls in a slum residence, Nairobi, Kenya. Women's Studies International

Feminist Articulations, Social Literacies, and Ubiquitous Mobile Technology Use in Kenya  ERIC

Water Crisis

Sustainability Indicators: Monitoring Cross-County Water Cooperation in the Nzoia River Basin, Kenya Directory of Open Access Journals

Trace elements in water, sediments and the elongate tigerfish Hydrocynus forskahlii (Cuvier 1819) from Lake Turkana, Kenya including a comprehensive health risk analysis.  FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts

Water, Sanitation and Hygiene Situation in Kenya's Urban Slums  ProjectMUSE